The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Indycar - Power Paces Practice At Mid-Ohio

PHOTO (select to view enlarged photo)

LEXINGTON, Aug. 04, 2012: Team Penske's Will Power set the pace as IZOD IndyCar Series teams began preparations for the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio.

Power, who is third in the championship standings entering Round 12, had a quick lap of 1 minute, 6.8632 seconds - which was just off the IZOD IndyCar Series lap time record on the 2.258-mile, 13-turn Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Scott Dixon, who has won three of the past five races at Mid-Ohio in the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car, was second quick (1:07.0213) and Marco Andretti was third (1:07.0644) in the No. 26 Team RC Cola car. Simon Pagenaud was fourth (1:07.1063) in the No. 77 Schmidt Hamilton HP Motorsports car, and Graham Rahal finished fifth (1:07.1088) in the No. 38 Service Central Chip Ganassi Racing car.

James Jakes, was sixth quick in the No. 19 Boy Scouts of America entry and rookie Josef Newgarden was seventh in the No. 67 Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing car. The top 20 cars were separated by less than a second.


The IZOD IndyCar Series will compete in Honda Indy 200, an 85-lap race at 1 p.m. (ET) on Sunday. The Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship powered by Mazda, the entry level step of the Mazda Road to Indy Ladder, will compete twice this weekend. Race #1 is slated for 4:15 p.m. Saturday, while Race #2 will take place at 11:10 a.m. on Sunday.


The Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio will be the 28th Indy car race at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course and the sixth IZOD IndyCar Series event. Scott Dixon is the defending race and pole winner.


The CART and Champ Car held 22 Indy car races in Mid-Ohio from 1980-2003. Al Unser won the pole for the first Indy car race at Mid-Ohio in 1980. Johnny Rutherford, who will drive the Safety Car for the IZOD IndyCar Series this weekend, won the race.


Scott Dixon is the only driver to win at Mid-Ohio three times, winning the races in 2007, 2009 and 2011. Michael Andretti, Helio Castroneves, Emerson Fittipaldi, Bobby Rahal, Al Unser Jr., and Helio Castroneves have all won at Mid-Ohio twice. Past winners Dixon, Castroneves, Ryan Briscoe (2008) and Dario Franchitti (2010) are entered in the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio


There have been four different pole winners in the previous five races. Helio Castroneves won the pole in 2007 and 2008. Other pole winners entered in this year's race are: Dario Franchitti (1998, 1999), Ryan Briscoe (2009) Will Power (2010) and Scott Dixon (2011).


Ten (10) drivers have won the race from the pole - Mario Andretti (1984), Bobby Rahal (1985), Roberto Guerrero (1987), Teo Fabi (1989), Michael Andretti (1990 and 1991), Al Unser Jr. (1994), Alex Zanardi (1996), Patrick Carpentier (2002), Paul Tracy (2003) and Scott Dixon (2011).


Three drivers entered in the event - Rubens Barrichello, Josef Newgarden and Giorgio Pantano - will make their first attempt to start an IZOD IndyCar Series race at Mid-Ohio. Ed Carpenter will make his 125th start in the IZOD IndyCar Series this weekend.


Live timing and scoring reports from the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio are available on the Internet at The live timing and scoring module provides statistical information, including track segment speeds, lap information and much more.

Feature stories, reports, driver quotes and notes, and photos will be posted on the site each day. More detailed information, including media advisories and VNF coordinates, is available at


Target Chip Ganassi Racing drivers Dario Franchitti and Scott Dixon will be featured on select Kellogg's brand packaging nationwide starting Aug. 19. The pair, who along with Juan Montoya, has given Target and Chip Ganassi Racing 45 career wins, including four in the Indianapolis 500 and six championships, will now be featured on limited-edition Kellogg's foods, including Kellogg's Frosted Flakes, Pop-Tarts, Rice Krispies Treats and Vrooms cereal, which will all be sold for a limited time only at Target stores.

Through the Target Racing relationship, partner Kellogg's will activate its relationship away from the race track for the first time with driver imagery on packaging that will include driver images, tidbits, fun facts and games - all tying into an on-pack sweepstakes where one lucky fan will win the "Ultimate Racing Experience" prize package and attend a NASCAR or INDYCAR race in 2013.

The Target Racing drivers will be featured on the following Kellogg's foods: Kellogg's Frosted Flakes cereal (15oz.) with Dario Franchitti, Rice Krispies Treats (10ct.) with Juan Pablo Montoya, Vrooms cereal (10.9oz.) with three versions that feature each of the drivers individually, Pop-Tarts Frosted Strawberry (12ct.) with Juan Pablo Montoya and Pop-Tarts Brown Sugar Cinnamon (12ct.) with Scott Dixon. Vrooms cereal is a unique cereal/box that was created specifically for the Target drivers.

RICK SIMINGTON (Kellogg's Sr. National Account Executive): "We were very excited to work with Target to bring together our two winning brands, great products and an exciting program that will resonate with Target guests."

DAN GRIFFIS (Director of Events and Strategic Partnerships at Target): "This is an exciting partnership for Kellogg's, Target and our guests. We are thrilled to bring our race car drivers to our shelves, exclusively at Target."

DARIO FRANCHITTI (No. 10 Target Honda): "It's a lot of fun for me personally to have a partnership with Kellogg's. I love their products and it's really cool and exciting to be on the cover of a cereal box!"

SCOTT DIXON (No. 9 Target Honda): "I think it's great that Kellogg's is stepping out of the box and using Dario, Juan and myself in their packaging this season. The Target race program continues to run strong now at 23 years and counting. The Kellogg's partnership is just another way companies are able to leverage their investments in our racing programs."