POWRi Midgets - Felker Wins Second Feature Of Season


WILMOT, Jul. 15, 2012: Andrew Felker won his second feature of the season Saturday in the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series, leading the final 28 laps in the “Salute to Harry Turner” co-sanctioned event with the Stark Automotive Group/Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series at one-third mile Wilmot Raceway.

Felker’s victory put him in sole possession of the POWRi championship lead over Brett Anderson, 1,850-1,650, with 15 of 29 events completed. They were tied prior to Wilmot. The 19-year-old from Carl Junction, Mo., won his first POWRi Midget feature on May 19 at Peoria (Ill.) Speedway, an event also co-sanctioned with Badger.

Scott Hatton of Roscoe, Ill., finished second. He challenged Felker for the lead several times on laps 25 and 26 and briefly had it on 27, but a caution put him back to second. Felker made a strong restart in his Fontana-powered Spike with two remaining in the 30-lap feature and won by two car lengths.

Jake Blackhurst of Mapleton, Ill., finished third, Alex Bright of Collegeville, Pa., was fourth and Bubba Altig of Mechanicsburg, Ill.., fifth.

Steady rain throughout Saturday made the track rough and Felker credited his crew chief father Danny Felker for adjusting the car to the conditions.

“My dad gave me a great car for a track like this,” Felker said.

Felker started third and passed pole sitter Brandon Waelti of Sun Prairie, Wis., on the third lap. There were five cautions from laps seven to 18. Hatton lined up second and Robinson, of Mt. Vernon, Ill., third for the restart.

Robinson was running fourth when he clipped an infield tire on the 28th lap and went barrel rolling into the infield. He wasn’t injured, but finished 15th.

POWRi’s National Midgets race tonight (July 15) at Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie, Wis., in an event co-sanctioned with Badger.

POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series feature results (30 laps): 1. Andrew Felker, 2. Scott Hatton, 3. Jake Blackhurst, 4. Alex Bright, 5. Bubba Altig, 6. Dillon Welch, 7. Mike Hess, 8. Colten Cottle, 9. Chet Gehrke, 10. Cameron Hagin, 11. Tyler Thomas, 12. Andy Malpocker, 13. Austin Burke, 14. Brandon Waelti, 15. Daniel Robinson, 16. Garrett Aitken, 17. Brad Kuhn, 18. Vance Lein, 19. Riley Emmel, 20. Austin Brown, 21. Derek Holmwood, 22. Cody Wisensel, 23. Bryon Walters.

Home | Buyers Guides For Every Auto Make | New Car Buyers Guide | Used Car Super Search | Total New Car Costs | 2016-1993 Car Reviews Truck Reviews
1996-2016 Automotive News | TACH-TV | Media Library | Discount Auto Parts

Copyright © 1996-2016 The Auto Channel. Contact Information, Credits, and Terms of Use. These following titles and media identification are Trademarks owned by The Auto Channel, LLC and have been in continuous use since 1987 : The Auto Channel, Auto Channel and TACH all have been in continuous use world wide since 1987, in Print, TV, Radio, Home Video, Newsletters, On-line, and other interactive media; all rights are reserved and infringement will be acted upon with force.

Privacy Statement | Size Does Matter | Media Kit | XML SITE MAP | Affiliates

Send your questions, comments, and suggestions to Editor-in-Chief@theautochannel.com.

Submit Company releases or Product News stories to submit@theautochannel.com.
Place copy in body of email, NO attachments please.

To report errors and other problems with this page, please use this form.

Link to this page: http://www.theautochannel.com/