The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Special Motorsports Event - Kurt Busch Named Honorary Chairman of 2011 Motorsports Hall Of Fame Of America Ceremony August 24

PHOTO (select to view enlarged photo)

DETROIT, August 4, 2011: NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion driver Kurt Busch has agreed to serve as the Honorary Chairman of the 23rd Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Ceremony, Wednesday, August 24, at the Fillmore Theater in downtown Detroit.

Busch, the 2004 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion, currently drives the No. 22 Shell-Pennzoil Dodge for Penske Racing in NASCAR’s top series. He has 23 career NASCAR Cup race wins, more than 150 top-10 finishes and 14 poles, including his most recent in June at Michigan International Speedway where Busch captured a series-leading and third consecutive 2011 pole. The following weekend Busch won his first race of the year at Infineon Raceway, his first career NASCAR Cup road course race victory. The Infineon win extended Busch’s NASCAR winning streak to 10 consecutive seasons.

“I am excited about the opportunity to address the crowd of motorsports leaders at the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America induction celebration and sincerely flattered to have the opportunity,” said Busch, who is a native of Las Vegas currently living in Charlotte. “When you look at the All-Star lineup that will be honored that night, it's a little intimidating, to tell you the truth. I started working on my speech during our off-week and I look forward to being there on August 24. This is always a first-class affair and it's a genuine thrill to be able to participate."

As Honorary Chairman, Busch will preside over the formal black-tie ceremony and deliver the evening’s keynote address prior to the official inductions of the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America’s 2011 class. This year’s list of motorsports legends and pioneers that will be enshrined into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America includes racing pioneer Ed Winfield, legendary Sports Car driver Augie Pabst, USAC Champion and Indianapolis 500 driver Roger McCluskey, diverse Drag Racing legend Ed McCulloch, NASCAR icon Donnie Allison, Speedway Motorcycle World Champion Bruce Penhall and the legendary radio voice of the Indianapolis 500, announcer and broadcaster Sid Collins.

"We are delighted to have Kurt Busch play such a key role in this year's celebration," said Ron Watson, President of the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America. "He has a unique perspective as a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion and as the youngest Chairman we have ever had. We are all anxious to hear what he has to say.”

This year’s Induction Ceremony will be the second for the Hall of Fame in its new relationship with the Detroit Science Center, which is located in downtown Detroit just a few blocks from the Fillmore. The Science Center will host the “Heroes of Horsepower” reception, Tuesday, August 23, where the new inductees and their representatives will see their permanent Hall of Fame sculptures unveiled.

Tickets for both the Tuesday “Heroes of Horsepower” reception and Wednesday evening’s Induction Ceremony can be purchased by calling 313-577-8400, ext. 482 or by visiting, where schedules for both events can also be found.