The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Nationwide Series - Record Number Of Canadian Tire Series Entries Projected At Montreal

PHOTO (select to view enlarged photo)

Montréal, August 3, 2011: The increasing popularity of the Montreal stop on the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series schedule, the NAPA Autopro 100 the weekend of August 19 & 20 at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, has reached unprecedented heights this year. The promoters of the event that also features the NASCAR Nationwide Series, the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series and the Canadian Touring Car Championship, received this week from officials of the Canadian NASCAR Series, an entry list of 37 drivers who should make the grid for Saturday morning's race in Montréal. The record number of entries will produce the series' largest-ever field since its inception in 2007, which incidentally, has always been a part of the NAPA Auto Parts 200 presented by Dodge. Over the years, the Montreal stop has seen its number of entries increase with 31, 33 and 34 drivers registered over the last three years. The Montréal event lists Kerry Micks as the inaugural winner, Andrew Ranger in 2008, JR Fitzpatrick the following season and Ranger as a repeat winner last season.

"This is great news for our organization. It proves once again that drivers from Québec and outside the province want to win fame in front of the Montréal crowd and challenge a legendary track," said François Dumontier, President of Octane Management and delegated promoter of the NAPA Auto Parts 200 presented by Dodge. "We are happy to offer race fans fields of 25 and up to 43 cars in the four series scheduled that weekend. As for the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series, since 2007 it has produced very exciting races, and I have no doubts that it will once again be spectacular."

Since its creation in 2007, the Canadian Tire Series has fielded 30 cars or more only seven times, with four of them in Montréal, two in Toronto and one in Edmonton. Earlier in July, 33 drivers registered for the Toronto Indy race weekend. According to the latest entry list, Circuit Gilles Villeneuve will, in just over two weeks, welcome one California driver, two each from British Columbia and Alberta, 17 from Ontario and 15 from Québec.

Following round seven of the 2011, 12-race schedule in Saskatoon, 2008 series champion Scott Steckly of Milverton ON, was leading the standings ahead of defending series champion D.J. Kennington of St. Thomas, ON sat in second place, twenty points back of the leader. Third place belongs to Don Thompson, Jr. of Hamilton. Steckly, Kennington and Thompson will lead the Ontario contingent. Andrew Ranger, Alex Tagliani, Isabelle Tremblay, Louis-Philippe and Jean-François Dumoulin, veteran driver Donald Theetge, who is sporting the NAPA Auto Parts 200 presented by Dodge logo on the hood of his car, and former Montréal Canadien's defenseman Patrice Brisebois, will headline the Quebec field for this very exciting 100-kilometer race.

Tickets for the 2011 Montreal NAPA Auto Parts 200, presented by Dodge are currently on sale. To order the best grandstands tickets still available and see Carl Edwards, Marcos Ambrose, Danica Patrick, Reed Sorenson, Elliott Sadler and all the other NASCAR Nationwide stars take on Patrick Carpentier, Ron Fellows Andrew Ranger, Alex Tagliani and Jacques Villeneuve on track on Friday and Saturday, August 19 and 20, fans must call right now 514 397-0007 or order online anytime at