The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Adrian Newey Wins RACE TECH World Motorsport Symposium Award

PHOTO (select to view enlarged photo)

Oxford UK, Jan. 12, 2011: Adrian Newey, Chief Technical Officer at Red Bull Racing, was presented with the Dino Toso award for the Racecar Aerodynamicist of the Year at the RACE TECH World Motorsport Symposium.

Accepting the trophy from Soheila Kimberley, RACE TECH's publishing director, at the awards dinner during the two-day conference, he gave special thanks to his team, particularly Peter Prodomou, Head of Aerodynamics. "I am very pleased to accept this reward on behalf of everyone at Red Bull Racing, particularly Peter Prodromou, following our successful season in 2010. It is especially pleasing to be honoured by one's peers."

The award for the Race Engine Designer of the Year was presented to Thomas Laudenbach for the Porsche 911 GT3 R Hybrid, which has proved to be extremely competitive since its inaugural race at the Nurburgring 24 Hours. The heart of the system features the ingenious Flywheel Storage System developed by Williams Hybrid Power.

"The entire team behind the Porsche 911 GT3 R Hybrid will be delighted to have won this award," said Laudenbach on receiving the trophy, "as it recognises the hard work that has gone on behind the scenes in engineering this hybrid car, which has been so competitive from its first race."

Don Burgoon, president of Performance Friction Corporation, received the award for the Most Innovative New Motorsport Product. Since being released at the start of 2010, the ZR43 low drag calliper has been found on a number of winning cars in the NASCAR Sprint Cup, including Jamie McMurray's Earnhardt Ganassi Racing Chevrolet, winner of the prestigious 2010 Daytona 500.

Burgoon paid special thanks to key individuals who were responsible for developing the ZR43 low drag brake calliper. "I am accepting this award for all the guys who have worked so hard on perfecting the ZR43 low drag calliper, which has proven to be so successful from the time we released it."

Now in its sixth year, the RACE TECH World Motorsport Symposium again attracted at the highest level speakers and delegates from around the world. John Iley, Head of Aerodynamics at Vodafone McLaren Mercedes - who has been Chairman of the Aerodynamics/Vehicle Dynamics Day from the start - was once again Chairman for the day, while the Racing Engine Day was chaired by Ulrich Baretzky, Head of Engine Technology at Audi Sport.

Lord Paul Drayson, team owner of Drayson Racing, and Martin Whitmarsh, Chairman of the Formula One Teams Association and CEO of McLaren Racing, gave the keynote speeches on each of the two days. Other speakers included Gilles Simon, the FIA's Head of Electronics and Powertrain; Pete Spence, Vice President and Technical Director, Toyota Racing Developments; Ben Bowlby, Technical Director, Ganassi Racing; and Mark Page, Chief Scientist, Swift Engineering.