The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Franchitti, Power Nominated For SPEED Performer Of The Year

PHOTO (select to view enlarged photo)

Indianapolis, Dec. 15, 2010: Three-time IZOD IndyCar Series champion Dario Franchitti and series runner-up Will Power are among the 18 drivers nominated for the SPEED Performer of the Year.

The two IZOD IndyCar Series standouts, along with USAC National Drivers Champion Bryan Clauson -- who earned a scholarship to compete in Firestone Indy Lights in 2011 -- will vie for the Mario Andretti Trophy. The award celebrates the wide variety of cars Andretti piloted to victory in his decorated career, and this year that same range of talent is on display as SPEED reveals its list of finalists for the honor - 18 racers from 10 different disciplines.