International Car of the Year Awards Announce 2009 Winners

PHOTO (select to view enlarged photo)

DETROIT, Jan. 10, 2009 -- The 13th Annual International Car of the Year Award's (ICOTY) jury presented today the winners of the 2009 International Car and Truck of the Year Awards. Held at the MGM Grand Detroit, the black-tie event hosted more than 500 industry leaders, VIPs, and media on the eve of press week of the North American International Auto Show. Among the political elite in attendance was U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow, who provided opening remarks for the ceremony.

The mission of the ICOTY Awards is to honor new-year model vehicles that reach beyond power and performance by tapping into lifestyle compatibility.

The jury, made up of 16 nationally-renowned automotive journalists, selected the new-year models with ballots tabulated by J.D. Power and Associates to ensure accuracy and credibility. The event was hosted by Editorial Director, Kevin Smith and Road & Travel Magazine (RTM) Editor-in-Chief, Courtney Caldwell. The winners are:

  International Car of the Year
  Nissan GT-R

  International Truck of the Year
  Dodge Ram 1500


The 2009 ceremony also debuted the Earth, Wind & Power (EWP) Awards(TM), honoring the most environmentally-friendly car and truck of the year. The mission of the EWP Awards is to recognize new-year model vehicles driven by a power source that help reduce global warming, are conducive to promoting a cleaner environment and support the mission to achieve energy independence through alternative sources. And the EWP winners are:

  EARTH, WIND & POWER(TM) - Car of the Year
  Volkswagen Jetta TDI

  EARTH, WIND & POWER(TM) - Truck of the YearFord Escape Hybrid

Honda Motor Company was awarded the second annual EARTH ANGEL Award for most environmentally-friendly automaker. The mission of the award is to recognize the automaker demonstrating the most significant progress with environmental initiatives and partnerships worldwide. U.S. Congressman Gary Peters provided opening remarks for the award, which was sponsored by Bridgestone.

ROAD & TRAVEL Magazine presented its sixth annual Lifetime Legend Award, honoring veteran automotive journalist Warren Brown, a long-time contributor to The Washington Post. The award was sponsored by Ford Motor Company.


The ICOTY Awards were founded in 1996 by Courtney Caldwell, founder and CEO of Caldwell Communications. Coined the "Academy Awards of Cars," ICOTY has become the largest auto awards show production in the United States.

Home | Buyers Guides For Every Auto Make | New Car Buyers Guide | Used Car Super Search | Total New Car Costs | 2016-1993 Car Reviews Truck Reviews
1996-2016 Automotive News | TACH-TV | Media Library | Discount Auto Parts

Copyright © 1996-2016 The Auto Channel. Contact Information, Credits, and Terms of Use. These following titles and media identification are Trademarks owned by The Auto Channel, LLC and have been in continuous use since 1987 : The Auto Channel, Auto Channel and TACH all have been in continuous use world wide since 1987, in Print, TV, Radio, Home Video, Newsletters, On-line, and other interactive media; all rights are reserved and infringement will be acted upon with force.

Privacy Statement | Size Does Matter | Media Kit | XML SITE MAP | Affiliates

Send your questions, comments, and suggestions to

Submit Company releases or Product News stories to
Place copy in body of email, NO attachments please.

To report errors and other problems with this page, please use this form.

Link to this page: