The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Carmichael Wins 6th Straight

AMA / EA Sports Supercross Series Round 12: St. Louis Edward Jones Dome,
St. Louis, MO, Saturday, April 6, 2002

      Honda Racing's Ricky Carmichael won his sixth consecutive 250cc
Supercross main event inside the St. Louis Edward Jones Dome. The red-hot
Florida native    pulled the holeshot in the main event, and dominated the
race from start to finish while a crowd of 53,312 screaming fans looked on.
Carmichael now leads the series       by 20 points.

"It makes life easier when you get a holeshot said Carmichael.  "I want to
win these last four races and keep the ball rolling. I am not going to let
up, but I am prepared to finish this in Las Vegas."

   Honda Racing's Ernesto Fonseca was on fire in the 250cc main event.
Fonseca leaped out of the gate and charged out with Carmichael leading.
After a brief     battle with Jeremy McGrath, Fonseca held his position in
2nd place until the final lap. David Vuillemin in a desperate last lap pass
slipped under Fonseca and claimed     the 2nd place position moving Fonseca
back to 3rd. Carmichael and Fonseca took 1st and 3rd respectively.

   Red Rider Nathan Ramsey rode his CRF450R to a hard fought 6th place
finish in the main event.

Red Rider Sebastien Tortelli who bruised his back at Round 10 in New
Orleans returned to action in St. Louis and finished in 12th place in the
250cc main event.

Amsoil / Dr. Marten / Journeys / Honda Racing's Mike LaRocco is still
recovering from a broken right wrist he sustained in Minneapolis. LaRocco
is undergoing a strong rehabilitation program to get his wrist back to

AMA/EA Sports Supercross, Round 12, 250-class Overall Finishers:

1. Ricky Carmichael - Honda
2. David Vuillemin - Yamaha
3. Ernesto Fonseca - Honda
4. Jeremy McGrath - Yamaha
5. Stephane Roncada - Kawasaki

AMA/EA Sports Supercross, 250-class Point Standings:

1. Ricky Carmichael - Honda - 259
2. David Vuillemin - Yamaha - 239
3. Ezra Lusk - Kawasaki - 181
4. Jeremy McGrath - Yamaha - 178
5. Stephane Roncada - Kawasaki - 173
6. Nathan Ramsey - Honda - 154
7. Ernesto Fonseca - Honda -142
8. Heath Voss - Honda - 126
10. Mike Larocco - Honda - 120

Upcoming Rounds:
April 13, Pontiac SX
April 20, Dallas SX